Sticks and Stones

Sticks and Stones will break my bones but words will never hurt you

This is what my mother would recite to me when children were unkind at school, or when my sister and I were bickering. I, however, would take physical bruises any day. Yes they hurt like hell, have to be explained, but they eventually fade.

Words wound, they can reach into your core insecurities and stab you were it hurts the most; your heart and soul.

I don’t just refer to words that are fabricated, I mean the ones enrobed in the truth. Why do people enjoy highlighting ones flaws; and not just once, but remind you time and time again; because, of course once is not enough.

Perhaps I should listen and believe them. I however, like to focus on people’s strengths, not remind them of their weaknesses.

I have had unkind words thrown at me, I am sure people would say the same about me, I can have a sharp tongue that, when angry, behaves irrationally, but I honestly never endeavour to be unkind.

Your words cut to the core, they have caused wounds that will never permanently heal, but I will survive. I have learnt to walk away, not put myself in a space that I have to listen to them and most of all, never give them credence.

I saw these words and think the rhyme should be changed.

Sticks and Stones will break my bones

Words scar, these scars may not be visible, they may be pushed away and tried to be ignored, but they hurt more than any physical wound. Trust me, I have many scars, I have written about some of them here, but the ones that are still with me are those created by words uttered, if often only whispered, wrapped in a veil of politeness.

Please  think how you would feel if you were the person on the receiving end of your words, I try, I don’t always succeed, but I do try.

I love this quote and is one truly to me remembered,

Be careful of your words, once they have come out, they may be forgiven but never forgotten

Wise words from Maharaja Ranjeet Singh.

