Savoury Nuts

I know, I haven’t shared a recipe on here in AGES, and this is almost not a recipe but a throw everything in a pan and then eat. Even though I can’t for the life of me remember who asked for this recipe, here it is…. it’s rather yummy to make then snuggle on the sofa with a glass of something and a good film.  A few go a long way, but who am I kidding, I could eat these for days.

 

Salt and Pepper Almonds 

  • 100g raw almonds
  • Large knob butter
  • 1 tbsp soy (or a large tbsp of Marmite)
  • 1/2 tspn cracked black pepper
  • pinch of salt

Method

  • In a heavy bottom pan toast the almonds slightly
  • Add the butter and melt
  • Add the soy or Marmite and reduce so the almonds have a sticky coating
  • Add pepper and salt and coat the almonds
  • Remove from heat and cool before nibbling (if you don’t you will burn your tongue – trust me)

Today’s film of choice is Before Sunrise, a flashback to my University Days, teamed with a fluffy blanket and a Gin and Tonic and I am smiling.

