You get what you need

I was doing a mundane thing today and the lyrics to the The Rolling Stones song, floated into my head.

No, you can’t always get what you want
But if you try sometime, you just might find
You get what you need

Rolling Stones

Recently I was invited to do something delicious and exciting, it would be a few days away, requiring a long plane ride to get there. I may even have been able to organise to bump into one of my best friends . Problem was, I needed someone to look after my children. I phoned my Mother, but she said she was off galavanting somewhere with my Dad. I swore when she said they were going to go away. My sister was unobtainable, but to be honest she was a long shot, though would have loved to have come up for a week. I think I may have sworn again, it’s just I really wanted to go.

You know when you want something so much that it invades your psyche; kind of like that extra piece of cake or one more glass of wine. You know you shouldn’t. You know the pounds it will add to your already most juicy arse or you know you’ll have a pounding head when you are woken at 06:30 the next morning, but you crave it anyway. I know my children come first but I wanted to leave my boring existence and suck the marrow out of life.

I’ve been feeling a bit sorry for myself about it, you know, woe is me and all that.  Doesn’t help that my brain seems to have magnified my mood due to lots of reasons. It’s classic my brain behaviour, for one, but I also feel that there are also lots of external forces working against me at the moment.  Yes this is me being sorry for myself.

So there I am folding laundry, feeling grumpy and a bit meh; and the words came to me. And I can’t help to think that even though I can’t have what I think/thought I wanted. I know I have found something that I need. Something truly precious. I may not be able to take the opportunity this time, but perhaps next time, I will be able to make it happen.

It has made me think of some of the treasures that are many thousands of miles away right in front of my eyes. Whilst I had not forgotten them, the reminders of them have been loud.

So there we go, I am grumpy, I am a bit down in the dumps, but would I change it, nah, I don’t think so. A truly delicious person gets to embrace that experience instead, everything works out for the best in the end doesn’t it?

Now you nosey-parkers, don’t ask me what it was, I want to put that to one side & focus on the future. Next time I will make it happen. But for a moment I dreamt of juicy possibilities.

Just in case you haven’t heard the song, here it is, with a bit of vintage David Frost…

