The Gallery – Sky

I haven’t joined in with the Gallery in ages, I suppose that is because I have been disorganised, and I haven’t really been taking photos, and had trouble getting to my archived ones.

I have however, just started a bit of a personal project to take pictures of clouds, I’ve been boring people on my Facebook page, and occasionally on my Twitter feed, so when I saw Motherventing’s post this morning, I knew I had to join in.

To compound matters, the clouds this afternoon have been amazing, I was going to post photos from the other day, but clouds excite me, so I jumped into the car with my camera to see what I could come up with. My excitement, makes me want to learn more about clouds, why do they look as they do, how do the hills at the back of my house change them. I’ll be off to the library soon so I can read up on them.

When I picked up my first pair of spectacles, when I was in my early twenties, the first thing I took delight at looking at were the clouds on the way home, I could see the detail and my husband still recounts my childlike delight as I watched them from the car.

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve always enjoyed lying on my back looking to the sky, through the day watching the clouds and through the night watching the stars. Some of that was to look out for planes, but watching how the clouds change has always been a favourite.

Perhaps because they are far up in the air, perhaps because those far away can see them too, but watching clouds makes my mind wander to special people dotted over the globe. They often share their cloud pictures too and it always makes me smile.

The sky and clouds are always above us, it is our imagination and hearts that allow us to stop and really see them.

Why not go and see what everyone else has been taking pictures of for The Gallery.

