The Olympic Meme

The always delicious and delightful Nadine over at The Pickled Princess has tagged me in this Olympic meme, which is probably good as I have about six unfinished posts and haven’t pressed that illusive “publish” button over here for a while.  So today’s challenge, have this posted within an hour of reading Nadine’s post, 51 minutes and counting…

1) If every day tasks were Olympic events, what would you get a gold medal in?

I may medal in a few (Oh how I hate it when the medal is used as a verb…)

  • Stating the bleeding obvious
  • Creating enough food to feed an army when there are just a few recruits for dinner
  • Avoiding housework to play games with the boys
  • Oh and sitting with my feet up and a glass of wine when I should be finishing chores

2) As a child (or even now), did you excel at a particular sport and if so which one?

Me excel? At a sport?! No, not really, I remember Julia Wood (who was always the sports captain for our class at school) telling me that I really wasn’t very good at sports and wondered why I even bothered.

Although, when I was pre 5 I was a very good swimmer, and apparently my competitive nature assisted me, the fact that I moved from the Philippines to the UK didn’t, as I am not sure I even saw a pool the first year we were over here. I also did Ballet, Tap and Modern dance from the age of 6(ish) to 16(ish) and was a dancer in a few shows. I played a little tennis, whilst a teen (even won a cup, for coming second in something) and I fought at the British Tae Kwon Do championships whilst a uni (being beaten by the eventual winner who was over a foot taller than  me; hard to attack the head when it is almost out of reach, but it was my fault for walking into a kick of hers, grrr).

I like sports and being active, but I am more a tryer than an expert… and yes, I blame my boobs.

3) Michael Phelps (swimmer) or Michael Johnson (runner) – which sport appeals to you more?

Hmmm… hard one here, I don’t do each of them nearly enough.  I see swimming as therapy as I used to swim almost ever day in 2000 when I was recuperating from illness, the laps giving me time to think and get my head straight.  I have just started running, which I truly am pants at, BUT the high after is awesome, thought the pulling and tearing of heel ligaments is not so.

So which would I choose? Swimming of Running?.. I would choose Cycling.

4) How fast can you get out of bed and ready to go out the door if miss the alarm and sleep in?

I have had a shower and gotten two boys up and dressed in less than 15 minutes.  As for how long it would take me, I have no clue, I always come with two wee boys in tow.

5) What fantasy sport would you like to see made into an Olympic event?

Hmmm… making people smile; you would get an allocated time to be released out at rush hour when everyone is tired and trying to get home, extra points if it was raining, and you would have to make unsuspecting people smile.

6) Claim to fame time – Have you ever met an Olympian and who was it?

Hayley Allen, was in my year at school, WHO? Well she dived for team GB in Barcelona 1992 (when she came 12th) and Atlanta 1996 (coming 9th).

She wasn’t a very close friend of mine, but I remember her being quiet and determined and her mother would score the diving at sports day. She was born in 1975 like me so would have been 17 in Barcelona, and we would have still been at school. I remember her not being around much as she was training.

Oh and Dame Kelly Holmes grew up the village I lived in from the age of 6. She is five years older than me, and went to the other primary school in the village and a different secondary school, so our lives never collided. (isn’t Wiki great at finding out random intel on where people went to school).

7) What event in past Olympics can you remember most vividly?

Sir Steve Redgrave winning his fifth gold medal in rowing.  Those Olympics were special, not because of the games, but they kept me going through a period of extreme insomnia and I just was’nee well.

8) Tuning in at home/ Not for me or tickets clamped ready in sweaty palms?

This year? Who knows? The fact that they are in our time zone is a big disappointment, there is something about cheering for your team in a random sport you have suddenly become an expert in at 02:00, now that is dedication. Having children who don’t really have the patience to watch much sports will mean that I will have to pick and choose the events I watch live, though having a husband who is a sports fiend will probably mean the television will always be showing it.

Oh I suppose the fact that they are here in the UK means I could have gone, but they are in London, so it’d have been easier to go to Paris to be honest.

My sister has tickets for some events as she lives “in town” (she is the urbanite city girl of the family, whilst I am the country bumpkin). Not sure to what, I know she has turned down tickets to some things. Though I believe she has a ticket to the final of the football… and she’s not planning on selling it if team GB get to the final.

9) Who do you think most deserves a gold medal (any walk of life not just Olympians).

I think gold medals should be handed out to winners, the best, those that have been training their lives for.  I was going to say parents, cos being a parent is tough, hard, smelly, tiring etc, but I am not a great believer in rewards for just participating, so perhaps it should go to my mother for putting up with me, apparently she had my sister to help with that, so perhaps this should be a team medal.

She however gets pipped to the post by my Dad (AKA “The Carrot”); who has the patience of Job; who lived in a house with three woman and one bathroom; who would go to all my dance and music recitals, even though he was bored for all but 5 minutes (when I was on) of the two and a half hours it took to throw a show; a man who still surprises me; will always be hip, cool and trendy and knows everything about everything.

& now I pass the torch to Lewis at BabberBlog and James at iFlibble… go on boys do us proud x

(& just if you are interested, it has taken 1 hour and 27 minutes to finish writing this from reading Nadine’s post, but there have been calls to wipe bottoms, change the program on the TV, tweets and texts to answer and a rather exciting game on Words with Friends to participate in… see, told you I was good at avoidance)

