Reader Appreciation Award

A while ago… ages in fact, I was awarded a Reader Appreciation Award by the truly delicious Nadine over at The Pickled Princess I love her blog as she writes from the heart and to be honest, in my opinion, that is what really matters when it comes to blogging. I am very touched that she has given me this, as I am always surprised anyone reads my little blog.

So, the rules of this award are as follows:

  1. Include the award logo somewhere in your blog.
  2. Answer these 10 questions, below, for fun if you want to.
  3. Nominate 10 to 12 blogs you enjoy. Or you pick the number.
  4. Pay the love forward: Provide your nominee’s link in your post and comment on their blog to let them know they’ve been included and invited to participate.
  5. Pay the love back with gratitude and a link to the blogger(s) who nominated you.

Here are the questions…

1. What is your favourite colour?

Easy one to start… RED, I love to wear it, have my toes painted red, have areas in my house decorated in red (not full walls but just wee accents), I just love the strong vibrant colour as it is “very me”.

2.What is your favorite animal?

Spiders, well any kind of arachnid… the bigger the better.  Yes, I know, I am weird.  I have always wanted to have one as a pet, a big hairy one, I am working on my children wanting one, there have to be some perks to this Mama malarkey.

3. What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink? 

Coffee or fizzy water… they pretty much all I drink of a non-alcoholic nature.  If good wine or Gin & Tonic came with no alcohol I’d definitely drink it… The alcohol has never been the draw, it’s always been the taste on my lips.

4. Facebook or Twitter?

Sorry RL friends and Family… It’s Twitter all the way.  I have met some truly amazing people there, some I have even had the pleasure of meeting in the flesh. Brave people, funny people, clever people, amazing people. Twitter keeps me sane (or saner, not losing the kooky that I am). Twitter makes me smile, from the inside out.  There are truly special people over there, you know who you are *mwah*

5. Favorite pattern?

I love patterns, I love maths… I think my favourite is the Fibonacci Sequence, yes I know… I am a total Maths Geek, but this pattern is found throughout nature too.  It amazes me how often it creeps up, and manifests itself in such a beautiful way.

6. Do you prefer getting or giving presents?

Yes I know many won’t believe me, but I love to give presents.  I tend to make them myself, lots of baking and the like.  I love to hear that noise of appreciation as a bite of cake is taken.  Apparently I am easy to by gifts for, but don’t enthuse about them enough. Why? Well I am not into “stuff” I’d rather hang out or get a hug… that’s special.

7. Favorite number?

Well 3 is the magic number. The date of my birth, and it’s just gorgeous and curvy. I also like numbers that are divisible by 3.  I buy stuff in 3s, or multiples there of, at the supermarket, much to the amusement of checkout people. It’s just a great number.

8. Favorite day of the week?

I really don’t know.  It used to be Sunday as I could have breakfast in bed, creating crumbs, while reading the paper.  Getting up late, cooking something scrumptious and just chilling. However those days are long gone now, Saturday is my Sunday (DH has Fridays and Saturdays off) I suppose I like all of them, they all have their strengths and weaknesses.

9. Favorite flower?

I like Daisies, but I also like Orchids, Bleeding Hearts and Poppies.  Oh and tulips, rosemary…. Oh I should stop, and decide on Daisies, the big ones that grow beside the road always make me smile.

10. What is your passion?

Food is my passion.  As a teenager my mother used to say I thought about food like most people thought about sex. Though back then I always said I wanted to have a restaurant for blind people as my food was never pretty.  I try to practice that now. I prefer to eat savoury over sweet, like to learn new techniques, love to learn from others, make lots of disasters as I try new things and will try to cook whatever you desire.  I also love being cooked for, though that rarely happens.

OK on to my favourite reads… I keep meaning to write a blogroll but it’s still a work in progress. These are in no particular order, each is special and I endeavour to keep up with all of them. Some are blogs I have read for years, others are new.  Most I read every new post for, though often there are not enough hours in the day.  Some I have read from their creation, some I have gone back to the start and have immersed myself in. Thank you for sharing, making me laugh, cry, be entertained, drool over and educate. They are all ace in their own way.

Slugs on the Refrigerator
Notes from the Cookie Jar
Waiting For Happy
SAHDandProud v2.0
Files and Records
The Plum Bum
Chronicles of a Reluctant House Dad
Mutterings of a Fool
The Pickled Princess
Stuff that Falls out of My Brain
MotherVenting
It’s a Dads Life
Babber Blog
Ex nihilio infinitum
Rambling Thoughts of Moon

I hope I have not missed anyone!

