What a Numpty!

The other day, whilst writing this; prior to completing it or proofing it; I wanted to see what it would look like.

So I went to press Preview
But instead I pressed Publish
I am a numpty!

Now those that know me well know I often use the word Numpty, to describe myself. It describes a stupid or ineffectual person, and is mainly used in Scotland. Though I think I prefer the description above.

I love the word, it flows off the tongue well and isn’t that derogatory, though just enough to want to give myself a kick.

I have been picked up, lately for using negative words to describe myself or shortcomings. I suppose it must be tiring to hear someone constantly put themselves down and highlight failings. I know that positives can be found in everything, just sometimes it’s hard to see them. When I use the word numpty I am more trying to berate myself than to deride myself, that’s different, isn’t it?

My American chums seem to find amusement in this word, believing it to be a fabrication, created by my beautifully, wonky brain. Some have even adopted it and use it often. Exaggerating its pronunciation, for comedic value.

It’s a word I only hear up here. I think it should be embraced into the bosom of speakers of English worldwide.

Image from http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lhgsjiizAV1qa8rel.jpg
