Recipe Shed – Chilli Chocolate Cake

This week’s prompt for the Recipe Shed is spicy… well that’s what I like to cook, so could have shared a plethora of things.  I like chillies, red-hot and making taste-buds tingle.  I am bad and add chilli sauce to lots of things, my eldest even wanted me to make chilli chicken for me for mother’s day, he knows me so well.

Anyway true to form I’m going to share a cake recipe; the inspiration came from my next door neighbour has the ace business Dixie’s Delectables. Now this girl really does know how to make cakes and cupcakes.

So this is a modification of my chocolate cake of choice, one I make all the time, and to be honest they are minor modifications and I’m going to share my method, which is a bit of a cheats way… as I’m just like that.

Ingredients

  • 200g plain chocolate , broken into chunks
  • 200g butter
  • 200g sugar
  • 100ml soured cream (though I have also used yoghurt when I ran out of creme fraiche)
  • 2 eggs
  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 5 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1tsp chilli flakes/cayenne pepper (this came out quite hot so if you prefer a hint use 1/2 tsp)
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 1tsp mixed spice

For the Icing

  • 100g plain chocolate
  • 170g can condensed milk
  • 100g butter
  • Red edible glitter

Heat the chocolate, butter and sugar in a large heatproof bowl in the microwave (or over a bain marie on the stove) until the butter has melted, and then stir until all the chocolate has melted.  To the same bowl stir in the sour cream, then the eggs.

Then I just weigh the flour on top of the chocolate mix , add the chocolate powder and spices, I loosely mix the dry ingredients (as they sit on top) and then mix everything together ensuring there are no patches of flour not incorporated. 

If you want, just follow the instructions from the original recipe, but this works and has less washing up… bonus!

Pour into a cake tin, that is at least a couple of inches tall, make sure you line the base with paper (even the silicon ones) I use either a 10 inch round tin or a 8 x 10 inch rectangle one.

Bake at 160°C for 50-55 minutes.  Now I veer to the 50 minutes as it means the cake is a little wet and fudge-y in the middle.

For the icing, melt the chocolate, butter and condensed milk (it’s half a tin of condensed milk so you have enough to make another cake a couple of weeks later) cover the top of the cake and dust with edible glitter.

Now I like this cake slightly chilled, which firms up the gooey centre, but that’s just my preference.

I made this cake for the grown-ups at Maxi’s birthday party, and poor cake, it sat there (I’d told people it was chilli cake) until I had a piece, and then one friend had a piece, in the space of about ten minutes most of the people had tried it and liked it.  So there you go, sometimes something you aren’t sure of surprises you.

Why not add your favourite spicy recipe here.

Recipe Shed

