Reasons to be Cheerful

This weeks reason is easy; and there is only one… My parents are visiting.  They arrived yesterday evening and stay until Tuesday morning.

Now this is particularly momentous as I have not seen them since June of last year, they live in Kent, at least 450 miles away, so I do not get to see them often enough.

So for this weekend, I will get to hug both my Mum and Dad, talk to them, make cups of tea for them, cook for them, mix G&Ts for them and hear them play with my children. Notwithstanding the fact I will be able to go climbing with my husband, whilst Grama is in charge.

Now of course their visit is not all a bed of roses, my mother is a force of nature and I revert to being a little girl when she is around, why, well she kind of demands it. I have already bitten my tongue quite a few times today, no sarcastic comments have escaped from my lips, why, well I don’t see them that often, and I want this time to be fun.

Today we walked up a hill, coloured, put the world to rights and it’s been good.

I am lucky, my parents are still alive, I can; if not often; wrap my arms around them and give them a hug. Yes I often wish they were closer, I believe our relationship would be better, closer, if they lived around the corner, but then again I’d probably drive them round the bend… it is what it is, but for this weekend, it will be good!

What are your reasons to be cheerful this week, please do share…

Reasons to be Cheerful at Mummy from the Heart

