The Sun Did Not Shine

“The sun did not shine.
It was too wet to play.
So we sat in the house
All that cold, cold, wet day.”
The Cat in the Hat Dr Seuss 

Today was supposed to be sunny and whilst it was not as wet as Dr Seuss writes about, we weren’t about to stay in the house all day.  Though to be honest, snuggling down watching films all day was all I really wanted to do.

My head has been in a particularly dark place of late, a place it’s not been in a while, and my normal solution to go for a run or a hard run on the bike was off the cards due to a niggle with my knee (OK that is an understatement, but I am trying to be positive).

So we wrapped up warm and went to one of my favourite places, The Queen Elizabeth Forest.  Now those of you who have perused my blog will have seen me exhort the magical properties of these woods, and know that this is the place I go to when the boys and I have not been seeing eye to eye, or I’ve just been grumpy.

The walk, whilst not long, so the boys can make it round without being carried, is usually enough to snap me out of whatever bleak mood I am in.

Now perhaps it is because we walked around the loop the opposite way than we usually do, which indecently did not impress Maxi.  He is definitely a creature of habit and did not like it, not one little bit.  Or perhaps it was the fact the mist was so low the light was horrid. But the usual magic properties of these trees and river just didn’t work today.

I feel stuck, heavy, lumpy, unmotivated, tired (even snoozing both to and from Aberfoyle). All in the head mind you, it feels like there is a huge rock on my head.  I am telling it to go away, that I have no time for it.  That I have things to do and responsibilities to take care of.  But all the positive thinking in the world is not shifting it.  I feel as though I am wading through treacle, and not in a fun, squishy way.

So what to do now, the washing, ironing, making of dinner, playing, hugging, talking.  I suppose it’s not too bad when I look at it.  Mini has just come up to see me and told me I am beautiful, and Maxi was not long here demanding a cuddle as apparently I am the best Mummy in the world.  Though today, I just don’t feel it.

So there we go, it is what it is. I will be fine. Tomorrow is another day, and I do have something interesting in the slow cooker, so fingers crossed it is yummy…

