Reasons to be Cheerful

I am reluctant to write this as I do not, in any way, want to come over as smug… but there are two things that have happened over the last couple of days, which have made me quite, most definitely in fact, cheerful…

Before we get to them I am thinking a bit of background is required.  Around October last year I was feeling frumpy, you know, stuck in a rut and looking at myself in the mirror wondering who or what was looking back at me.  I’d been a stay at home Mummy for years, two and a half to be exact, and I felt like life was just happening around me.  Joy came from the piggy tails of other people’s happiness and I felt fat, sluggish, boring… you get the picture.

So what did I do?  I got my hair cut.  I used to always have long hair; it’s dark and straight by the way and grows really fast; and a couple of times a year I’d get inches cut off the bottom.  Last summer, however, I’d had it cut in what I would call a Cleopatra bob, the new thing for me was that I had a fringe. (yes that pic’s of me about 18 months ago) There was one problem, my husband hated it… I mean he’d look at me and I could tell he didn’t like it, I’m not sure if I reminded me of someone, but what I did know is that it had to go.  So I gave him a choice, I’d keep the fringe or it’d all get chopped off.  He said chop it off and that’s what I did…

This simple decision to get my hair cut short was the start of my cementing I needed to change.  Now it has always been less about physical appearance and more about attitude change, but it definitely started the ball rolling.  Chance encounters, delightful friends, wonderful family have all influenced this, and over the past year my attitude to life has changed, thanks to some delicious inspiration, and lots of pure bloody mindedness, what I spend my time doing has changed, and this has led to a couple of things…

The first occurred yesterday; I have a stack of dresses that I have kept over the years, ones I have worn in different work environments and ones that I’ve worn for more formal occasions  and yesterday I tried a few old ones on, and they fit!  Yes, I was wearing clothes that I bought around the time I left University around fifteen years ago.  Admittedly my body shape has changed, but it has been poisoned by drugs (the prescribed kind) and produced two children, so you would expect to see some kind of a change.  I was amazed, and most happy, go me!

The second; occurred this evening, whilst at the supermarket, picking up a few odds and ends, and I bumped into the husband of a dear friend of mine.  Now I’ve not seen him since last homogamy, so that is around eleven months, and he said I was looking well and asked if I had lost a wee bit of weight.  Yes, I replied, over four stone since January.  Wow he said, it looks good on you.  Now I should explain it is VERY cold today, we’ve had snow on the hills and I am suitably dressed, also I have been climbing all day, and felt hugely filthy and in need of a long soak in a hot bath, but he noticed I seemed different… and just the fact he did made me look at myself to realise that I have, hugely.

So there we are, this weeks reasons to be cheerful are all about change, and whilst I still have much more to change; two dress sizes smaller, over four stone lost and a life outlook all point to some positive change thus far…

What are your reasons to be cheerful, do please share…

Reasons to be Cheerful at Mummy from the Heart

