Recipe Shed – Pork Shoulder in the Slow-Cooker with Mexican Spices

This weeks Recipe Shed is all about the kind of food that you yearn for on dark, dreich days… I learned of this prompt as the sun was shining and the sky was the most beautiful azure blue.  I laughed, then hoped I had taken a picture of it in the past, I haven’t, and now toy with the idea to delay prior to posting… but I have been doing that the past two weeks…  I have so many delicious pictures of roasts, and they have yet to make it here… Stop with the procrastination, the photo can come later!

So here is what I do, when I have no time to cook, but want to come home to something that is soft to the bite, delicious on the tongue and fills the house with subtle fragrances.

  • The night before; Take a pork shoulder joint.
  • Untruss.
  • Remove and set aside the crackling
  • Cover pork with Fajita seasoning.
    – nowadays I mix up my own, based on this one (I’ll post mine soon… promise)
  • In the Morning; as you are preparing breakfast; put spiced pork into slow-cooker
  • Add half a cup of water
  • Put slow-cooker to low
  • Carry on with your day
  • Just before you want to eat (about 10 hours later) remove pork
  • Shred with two forks
  • Pour over the juice
  • Serve in flour tortillas with shredded raw vegetables, hot spicy salsa, cool creamy guacamole and earthy re-fried beans

Enjoy

Now I have to be honest, I am really looking forward to seeing what other people come up with as I use my slow-cooker all the time, it is great for making a great bolognaise sauce, instead of simmering, whilst you are watching, make the sauce a little drier than usual, and leave in the slow-cooker all day, (or a couple of hours) so when you need it, it is ready to go and the meat flavour has had time to develop.

Don’t forget to pop over to Chronicles of a Reluctant Housedad and peruse the other delicious ideas.

Recipe Shed

