Recipe Shed – Sweet Chilli Jam

The lovely @theboyandme is hosting this weeks recipe shed, and I do hope she will be sharing the recipe for apple chutney, she was tweeting about a while back.

As for me, I promised @SAHDandproud, ages ago, I would share this recipe and I’m only getting round to doing it now.. tut, tut…

This is my (current) favourite preserve recipe; it’s easy; it’s very tasty; I give it as presents, but only to very special people; and I have been making it for just under three years.  I found it in the December 2008 Good Food Magazine and whilst I only use that as a guideline nowadays, I’ll share that recipe.  I tinker around with the seasoning, particularly the garlic, ginger and chilli quantities.

Makes 4 small jars ◊ PREP 20 minutes ◊ COOK 1 hour

8 Red peppers, de-seeded and roughly chopped
10 red chillies, roughly chopped
finger sized piece fresh root ginger
8 garlic cloves
400g can cherry tomatoes
750g golden caster sugar
250ml red wine vinegar

1/ Tip the peppers, chillies (with seeds) ginger and garlic into a food processor, then whizz until very finely chopped.  Scrape into a heavy-bottomed pan with the tomatoes, sugar and vinegar, then bring everything to the boil.  Skim off any scum that comes to the surface, then turn the heat down to a simmer and cook for about 50 minutes, stirring occasionally.

2/Once the jam is becoming sticky, continue cooking for 10-15 minutes more, stirring frequently so that it doesn’t catch and burn.  It should now look like think bubbling lava. Cool slightly, transfer to sterilised jars, then leave to cool completely.
Keeps for 3 months in a cool, dark cupboard – refrigerate once opened

I am always very popular when I say I am going to make this in my house as the boys love to help with the whizzing, and Maxi can pretty much do it with minimal supervision (though he is not a fan of the smell of the chilli) I do have to be careful that they don’t sample the peppers though.

I am not a fan of the putting it into jars part, and I will just put it into a plastic box and keep it in the fridge, which it does well.  As time passes the jam is likely to lose some of its kick, which is one of the reasons why I use more chilli to start with.

The jam is incredibly pretty and colourful.  It works as a dip, goes with pretty much any sandwich filling, lifts hot and cold meats, adds that wee something to a gravy and goes so fast in my house that I rarely make a single batch.

Have you got a favourite jam or preserve recipe you want to share?  Then please join in as I’m looking for some ideas for Christmas presents.

Recipe Shed