The Recipe Shed – Aunty Dawn’s Microwave Apple Cake

This weeks recipe shed is all about using 5 ingredients or less.  Which is something, if I’m honest, I do regularly, but there isn’t much cooking in what I make.  Griddled sea bass, serve with steamed veg; slow cook beef brisket with rice or fresh tagliatelle; seared mexican chicken salad; to be honest the list is endless.

So there I was in my kitchen pondering, and I was also wondering to do with the apples that had come from our tree, that were getting to the stage that they really needed to be eaten. So I thought that I’d make Aunty Dawn’s Microwave Apple Cake (it’s more of a pudding than a cake) and serve it with creme fraiche or ice cream.

Then I counted the ingredients, 5.. (if you don’t count the ice cream, which you don’t need to serve) …

  1. 3oz Butter/Marg
  2. 3oz Sugar
  3. 1 egg
  4. 3oz self raising flour
  5. as much apple as you want (peeled and cut up) – I used about 8oz

Not only does it have 5 ingredients, it has 5 stages…

  1. Mix butter, sugar and egg together
  2. Mix in flour
  3. Add apple to the cake mix and stir
  4. Cover with clingfilm & pierce
  5. Cook in the microwave for four or five minutes

Really easy, it comes out almost like a suet pudding, quite dense, and really yummy with creme fraiche or ice cream  I have it on good authority that it tastes better on day two as the edges get all crispy, but it doesn’t ever seem to last that long in our house.  Best bit too, is you can mix and cook in the same bowl so there is minimal washing up to do at the end… bonus!

Recipe Shed

