Recipe Shed – Gooey Chocolate Puddings

OK I’m being greedy this week and submitting an extra recipe to the Recipe Shed.  (I need to catch up after the last couple of weeks…)

Actually it is because I found myself making this pudding the other day to celebrate hub’s work changing (same job different venue).  It’s his favourite and I’ve made it for him for the last ten years.  I’ve made it for many people actually as it is really easy, fast and goes down a treat.

It’s from How to Eat by Nigella Lawson which is a great wee read, and my copy pretty much falls open on page 187 where you will find this recipe.

  1. 125g best quality dark chocolate
  2. 125 unsalted butter – but I used salted as that’s what was in the house
  3. 3 large eggs
  4. 150g sugar
  5. 35g plain flour, preferably Italian 00

And what to do?

  1. Put the chocolate and the butter in a bowl and melt (whatever your preferred method, mine is microwave, but I know many like to do this over a pan of boiling water.
  2. Whisk together the eggs, sugar, and flour until just blended then gradually whisk in the melted chocolate & butter and set aside to rest
  3. Preheat oven to 200ºC about half an hour before you want to eat the pudding
  4. Pour the mixture into four ramekins, put them on a baking sheet and just as you are finishing your main course, bake for 10-12 minutes until the tops are firm, cracking slightly and the edges are set.
  5. Serve with cold cream or creme fraiche.


Recipe Shed

