The A to Z of me meme

Thanks to @pootlehat for tagging me on this A-Z meme… here goes

ANORAK…Do you have a sad side? Well I’d class myself as a geek, I love maths, and I’ve just taught my four-year old Newton’s law of gravity, well OK I did simply it for him, but yes I am sad… I was also told by nursery that they were very impressed that he knew Latin, it was only Carpe Diem, but he could tell them that it meant “seize the day”

BODY…What physical attribute would you most like to change? Hmm this is a hard one, do I choose my saggy tummy left from having two children in 15 months by caesarean section, or thinning hair having been “poisoned” by medication over the years… you know what I am me, my body is me, if anyone has a problem with my body they have a problem with me.  I don’t think I would necessarily change anything at the moment.

CELEBRITY…Which one would you most like to date and why? This is probably sad, but I am not into celebrity, I am more interested in people, the fact that someone is in the media and deemed popular is not an attraction for me.  However, there are lots of pretty people out there that are lovely to look at, though I am not sure I would like to shatter the illusion of the prettiness by finding what they are like in real life.  I have, however, met a few “famous” people, and they have generally been lovely.  I just like real people, celebrity or not.  

DÉBUTTell us about your first ever blog post. What made you start blogging? I started blogging on 01 January 2011.  I blogged about new beginnings, I gave myself a list of challenges for the year, some achieved, some broken and some waiting to be done. The post explains why I started blogging, which was essentially to practice writing, as I realised that being a SAHM I rarely put my ideas on paper and with recently being diagnosed as dyslexic, albeit a high functioning one, I thought the practice of writing would be good.

ERROR…What has been your biggest regret? I’m not really big on regrets, but I suppose it is probably my lack of formal qualifications, but to be honest, I am here today and I may not have been if I did not take the decisions I did.

FUNNY…Who’s making you laugh? Easy, my children, they have me in fits of giggles daily.  Their joy for life, silliness, the sound of their laughter, all contribute to my jollity (to be fair, the laughter is punctuated by crying and shouting, but that’s what a house of preschoolers is like)

GRAND…If we gave you one right now what would you spend it on? A plane ticket

HOLIDAY…What’s your favourite destination? Probably France, because I’ve been lucky enough to travel it quite extensively on holidays, Cognac, Calvados, Champagne… can you see a theme here?  Oh and I have a soft spot for the Shetland Islands and the Island of Mull and Scotland in general.

IRRITATE…What’s your most annoying habit? There are two, or they could stem from the same thing… I’m bossy, well more particular, and apparently I ask lots of questions and it can seem as though I am interrogating people.  I however like to think that I am precise with my requirements and I am interested in people, though I can understand that is frustrating to be asked lots of questions and not be given enough time to answer.

JOKER…What is your favourite joke (the one that makes you laugh every time you hear it)? I am so bad with jokes, when I tell a joke I always get the punchline just a little wrong. Hmmm I can’t think of a favourite… 

KENNEL…Do you have any pets? No, but do children count?

LOVE…Are you single, married, engaged, living with a long-term partner? I’ve been married to my long suffering hubs since 1998 (I was 22, so very young when we tied the knot).

MEAL…What is your ultimate starter, main and dessert? Oh this question is too difficult, it depends on so many things, who am I with, where am I, what time of the year is it.  I used to play a game where a friend of mine who wanted to travel would pick a place and I had to decide what to serve there.  This question is just too hard. It would probably be something fishy to start, something light with bags of flavour.  A slab of beef seared on the outside, raw in the middle, for the middle and there would definitely be broccoli involved somewhere. To finish would be a plate of unctuous cheese and a glass of port or the best dark chocolate you could find, just a few wee squares with an espresso and an XO Hennessey.  That however is quite dull, and it is as likely to be bangers and mash, an Asian banquet or a good curry, perhaps something hot and spicy… OK I’d better stop or I could go on for days.

NOW…If you could be anywhere right now where would you be and who with? Shhh that would be telling

OFF DUTY…What do you do in your spare time? Spare time? What is that? Actually I have just started rock climbing, I am a total novice.  I can often be found cycling around the local roads and trails with either little people in tow or on the seat on my bike.  I blog, chat on twitter and facebook, watch movies, read books, spend time creating things in the kitchen, particularly 3D cakes.  All things that I wish I could spend more time doing, though tiredness often gets me.

PROUD MOMENTS…What are you most proud of? My boys, the days they were born, their first steps, first words, first swimming lesson… definitely my two boys

QUEASY…What turns your stomach? Knowing that someone is about to be put to death.  No matter what they’ve done, I find it impossible to justify the death penalty, particularly with the countless times innocent people have been put to death.

RELAX…How do you relax? I cook, bake, prepare my mis en place (chopping things works really well for me) to cook or bake, read recipes and share what I’ve created with others. Though if you ask my Mother she says I never relax, which she finds most tiring.

SONG…What is your favourite song of all time? I don’t have one favourite song, there are lots that I like, it’s kind of like the food thing, it’s mood, place and company dependant.

TIME …If you could go back in time and relive it again, when would you choose? Wry smile spreads on face. Mid 1995, early 1998, early 2003, early 2011.. just to name a few.

UNKNOWN…Tell us something about yourself that no one else knows? I am such a blabber mouth I am sure someone knows everything about me. Hmmm… I enjoy hanging washing on the line on my own without distraction, preferably plugged into my iTouch listening to a random selection of tunes. 

VOCAL…. Who is your favourite artist? Eeeek, I have no clue.  I am always changing and listen to many genres of music.

WORK…What is your dream job, and are you doing it now?  No I am not doing my dream job now, I don’t class being a Mum a job, it’s a choice I made.  What would my dream job be, something that would help people, allow them to heel, support them and watch them flourish.

XRAY…Any broken bones? I don’t think so, but I did have a crack in my jaw bone, does that count?

YIKES…What has been your most embarrassing moment? Oh there have been so many, I do remember this one time at primary school, we had swimming first thing so I wore my swimming costume to school under my uniform, my Mum taught swimming (back in the days that parents could help out) and I forgot my knickers, not a bad thing per-say, but Mum brought me home to get new ones and everyone found out. There was also the fact that I was always sent to school in boys shoes and there was this one time that the style that had been chosen for me was the same as of one of the most popular boys in my class, I got teased for having boys shoes (but probably not as much as he did for having a girl wear the same shoes as him). There have of course been countless more, but they escape my head (wiped from my memory perhaps).

ZOO…If you were an animal, which one would you be? A dragon, I’d be huge, could fly, breathe fire and be mythical.

Who is next? @TheBoyandMe, @ReluctHouseDad, @BlueBearWood, @EviesGran and @dadcooking2nite

