Recipe Shed – Chicken Pie

This weeks inclusion for the recipe shed is based on the theme of chicken.  Keith at Chronicles of a Reluctant House Dad said this theme would be easy… The only issue being that I cook chicken all the time, but rarely follow a recipe.  I cook bolognaise with minced chicken instead of beef, make chicken fajitas, thai green curry, chicken caeser salad, chicken goujons with a crispy cheesy coating… none with a recipe, they are just with a pinch of this and a soupçon of that.  So I went and looked in my trusty notebook, you know the one that has all the recipes that actually work, or have been shared with you by favourite people, and low and behold the first recipe was for my favourite chicken pie recipe.

I have to admit I haven’t made this in years, and have to go to the shop to get the ingredients, as I have no leeks or cream in the house, but I will be making it for dinner later, so will post a picture then.

This recipe notebook of mine was started when I was planing what to bring to University when I was just 18… that’s 18 years ago now… it’s a bit battered and has less than 40 pages left to include recipes (yes the pages are numbered and there is an index, I am strange, I know). I even noted that it came from the Encyclopaedia of International Cooking p198. (Side note… isn’t Amazon great, this is a really old book & all I need to do is search for it on Amazon and they are selling it!)

For this recipe use chicken thighs, as they are much jucier once cooked than the breast. First poach 1.5kg or 3lb of chicken thighs, on the bone, in a pint an a half of chicken.  Then cool, remove the bones & skin and cut into chunky pieces. Split and slice 3 to 4 leeks, blanch in the same stock and set aside.

Make shortcrust pastry, (do you need the recipe? that’s on page 17 of the note-book…) My recipe just says; mix 2 cups flour with 3/4 tsp salt, rub in 2/3 cup butter, mix in 4 to 6 tbsp cold water until smooth dough. Let this rest in the fridge whilst you get on with the rest of the chicken pie.

Melt a 2 tbsp butter in a pan and add 2 tbsp flour, cook out and then add about half a pint/ 285 ml of the remaining stock, simmering for a couple of minutes until it thickens up. Remove the thickened sauce from the heat, season and add 4 floz/118 ml cream.

Now roll out the pastry to line a 9 inch pie dish (or you could forgo this and just put the lid on the pie if you’d prefer).  Spread the chicken and leeks and a sliced red chilli evenly over the base of the pie dish and pour over the sauce.

Cover with the remaining pastry, decorate (great wee job for the little people of the house to get involved with). Remembering to make some slits in the top of the dough to let the steam out (My best friend from Uni made lots of chicken pies and had an adorable little pie steam release thing, every time I make a pie, of any kind, I think of her)

Where was I, yes, glaze the top of the pie with a beaten egg, (I often don’t do this, and save an egg, but it’s up to you) and put it in the oven at 200°C/400°F/GM 6 for 30 minutes, until the pastry is lightly browned.

OK now I’ve written this, I’m off to make one…. I’ll add a photo later x
PS. Please join in and add your own recipe to the linky; just click on the rather nice shed picture below for details

Post Publish Update: Well I remembered why I don’t make pies, I don’t have a pie dish, so I ended up making crumble instead (I’d already almost made the mixture for the shortcrust to which I’d added some cayenne and paprika which is why it has an orangey hue)  It wasn’t pretty but it did taste yummy.

Recipe Shed

