The Gallery – Black and White

I had forgotten that it was almost Wednesday, thus Gallery day, so I searched what prompt Tara had given us for this week.  Then it all came flooding back, I remember reading that it was going to be Black and White, and I had this great idea to take some pictures this week to play around with and see if I could come up with something really interesting.  But it was Tuesday evening when I got around to thinking about it and though ARGGGG!!!  What to use? Hmmmm…

I had a quick read of her post again, and fixed on these words…
“Remember, The Gallery isn’t primarily about technically brilliant photos. It’s about rediscovering photos; both old and new.”
and I remembered a photo which was taken on my wedding day, that I had found a few months ago, took a photograph of and sent to a friend.  (a photograph that I’d given a very dog-eared print of to another dear person, who brought it back to life a few years back).

I’d sent this photo as a reminder of what I looked like when I was in my early twenties.  It was taken at a time my mother says I looked my best, and she keeps encouraging me to try to look like that again… yes mum I’ve had two children and lots of other things happen to me since then…

So where was I?  Yes I shared the photograph I took (on my floor) of the photograph taken on the evening of my wedding day, (are you following this).  The original was taken just before I dropped the champagne flute and sliced my hand, getting blood everywhere. I am rambling today…

The image returned to me, having been played with, stylised using an iPhone app (not sure which one) and it made me smile. So here it is…

This shot reminds me of optimism, a time I felt secure, and ready to live life.  I was actually sent home from work the day before as I was freaking everyone out as the person who was normally a bundle of nervous energy was totally chilled.

Post Publish Update: I’ve had a few requests to see the original, so here is a before and after. (but please remember the first is a photograph of a photograph, so quality is not great)

