Recipe Shed – Carrot Cupcakes

The rather delicious @reluctanthousedad has launched a new linky so we can all share our recipes.  Great idea, except I write the worst recipes in the world, so please, please bear with me as I endeavour to improve.

Keith asks for a “recipe you think could enhance the mundane existence of another person’s life” which has left me pondering, reviewing which recipes I’ve shared already, and wondering what would really enhance a person’s existence (& that I have a photograph of)….

So here it is, my recipe for carrot cupcakes, as modified from a Martha Stewart recipe for pumpkin cupcakes – also rather delicious, but since pumpkin is very seasonal in this country, off-season I make them with carrot instead.
For pumpkin ones, I roast and purée my pumpkin, then measure and freeze ready for this recipe as I can’t seem to find canned pumpkin.

Her recipe utilises american cups, so I’ve translated it into grammes for those that do not have american cups in their cupboards (& they are slightly different from UK cup sizes even though I often use them instead).  I wrote a post on the quantity conversions which I use all the time to do this.

Preheat your oven to 350°F/180°C & line your cupcake tins with papers.  This recipe makes 24 big cupcakes & about 24 mini cupcakes, or lots of mini ones… I often half the recipe if we are just making them for us.

Before you start you need to make the puréed carrot, you can do this the day before, or as required, it’s very quick, peel & chop up at least 350g of carrots (when they are cooked they reduce in weight).  Once tender purée until there are no lumps.

While you are waiting for the carrot to cool, in a large bowl, mix together 2 cups/256g/9oz all-purpose flour,  1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon coarse salt, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon ( I usually double this as I like cinnamon), 1 teaspoon ground ginger, 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg (ensure this is freshly grated as ground nutmeg looses its flavour very fast, keeping a couple of nutmeg nuts and grate as required ensure’s it’s always fresh) and 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice (again I double this as I do like a spicy cupcake).

In another large bowl, whisk together 1 cup/220g/7.75oz packed light-brown sugar (if I’ve run out I leave this out and double the granulated sugar), 1 cup/201g/7.1oz granulated sugar (I often cut the granulated sugar quantity in half, if I fancy a less sweet cupcake, this is very mood/event dependant), 1 cup (2 sticks)/226g/8oz unsalted butter, melted and cooled (I often use stork margarine which works just as well) and 4 large eggs, lightly beaten.

Add the dry ingredients to this mixture and mix until smooth.  Add in 15oz/428g puréed carrot and mix again.

Fill the paper cakes to about two-thirds and bake in the heated oven for about 20/25 minutes.  If you are making mini muffins I would check them at about 18 minutes. The cakes are ready when they spring back when you touch the top, or a skewer inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean.

Let them cool completely before you ice them.

I’ve iced them with butter icing, but I much prefer a cream cheese icing.
Mix 16oz/452g cold cream cheese (make sure it’s cold or it won’t work) with 1/2cup/4oz/113g softened butter. Once combined, add a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and stir in 2cups/9oz/256g icing sugar.

I will admit I’ve tried a few recipes for cream cheese icing, and they don’t always pipe well, but this one works a treat.

The last time I made these cupcakes I thought they were a bit sweet, so I decided to pipe cream cheese into the centre of the cake before icing them, now this was a complete faff, since I’d made mini cupcakes, but the end result was well worth it.

I then top the cakes with a swirl of icing and dust with cinnamon, they seem to go down well at parties as there are never any left…

Recipe Shed

