Listography – Best Children’s Films

Yet again Kate from Kate takes 5 has come up with a great Listography, that has created much discussion in our house and amongst friends.  What are the top five films for children?

Friends and family have come up with all manner of films, some I have yet to actually see… the long list was long, very long, we are lucky to have so many children’s films that appeal to both a younger and adult audience.  As, from experience, when a child finds a favourite it gets played, over and over and over and over again!

So here goes, I have chosen two of my childhood favourites, one that’s a complete classic, and two of my children’s favourites, which I have been brainwashed grown to love.

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971)…  I loved the Roald Dahl book first, and then fell in love with the film.  The writers captured the darker elements of the story and yet the bright colourful sets and sequences still bring a smile to my face, and of course Gene Wilder is a genius

The Parent Trap (1961)… I don’t know why I love this, but I do.  It’s probably something to do with Hayley Mills playing two characters, who knows.  This is however, a perfect crawl under a blanket on a rainy Sunday afternoon film. I get transported to all things lovely; where impishness is good; there is a sprinkle of a love story; and where the protagonists get what they want at the end. I am a sucker for a happy ending.

Mary Poppins (1964)… What can I say that hasn’t been said before; the songs are brilliant; the accent terrible; magic, well magical and the message to do as your told, but remembering to follow your dreams, paramount. I am a sucker for a musical, my grandfather had the album of this on vinyl that he put on cassette for me, so I know knew all the words to all the songs.

Finding Nemo (2003)… The first of the films I have seen so many times I’ve lost count. Though this one I did see BK (before kids).  When my boys were really small, I think they liked the colours and the fish, and the story was a little lost on them, now they love sharks and all things marine, and are often heard, with their Dad quoting Bruce.

And finally… Cars (2006)… not the squeal Cars 2, which was the film they saw on their first trip to the cinema (last week).  That film Mini couldn’t sit through, choosing instead to stand in front of the poster for “Day of the Diesels” a Thomas the Tank Engine film, to be released later this year.  No, no, no, I am talking about the first film, the film that for a while when the boys would be getting up at 05:00 (or earlier) each morning they would watch, as Mummy dozed.  The film that when we went to France last year, when they were, ever so kindly, given in-car DVD players, they watched over and over and over again.  They have all the Duplo sets, and love all the characters, pointing out any car that looks like them driving past (normally Fillmore or Sarge).  I like the story as it is one that teaches friendship, and kindness and you can’t really get better themes for a child’s film.

Just a wee note to Kate, I loved this theme, and I’m going to watch all my favourites again, (and probably most of everyone else’s favourites too), thank you x

All posters taken from IMDB

Photobucket

