The Gallery – Grandparents

This week’s theme for the Gallery is Grandparents.  I’ve had so many ideas who to write about and share pictures of, my parents who are the wonderful grandparents of my boys. Hub’s parents, and particularly his father who is no longer with us, who never got the chance to meet his son’s children.

Or my grandparents, of whom I got to know three, as I had one in heaven.  As my mother’s father died before she was born.

So who to choose?  It’s not a competition of favourites, as that would not be fair.  So I choose my grandparent who waited to meet my son, who, having held her grandson in her arms, for the first time, when he was ten weeks old, died the following morning, knowing her legacy would continue for another generation.

Grandma S (28 November 1917 – 18 May 2007)

Grandma always had great poise yet was a real grafter.  During the war she was a nurse, and she would often tell me stories of how she’d roll up her sleeves to get whatever job needed to done. She would also tell me of the many surgeons and other high-flying gentlemen who took a fancy to her.  That she could have married into high circles,  but instead fell for my darling Grandpa.

He was a wonderful man, intelligent, kind, well-educated, dashing and in the RAF when they met.  I think he had a ten-day leave pass so they could get married (on his birthday no less)

They were married for over 50 years, and had two children, my father, and his sister, my namesake, who unfortunately died when she was a child.

Living and working all over the globe, turning their had, like many after the war, to whatever needed to be done.  Following their son across to the far east, so they could be close to their grandchildren.  Embracing the culture and not coming back to the UK for a few years after their son did.

She lived life; was a keen gardener; an inventive cook; would watch international sports events to hear the national anthems of the teams sung (not having a clue about the sports themselves).  She would watch countdown; loved words puzzles; and introduced me to many things including Bagpus and the Clangers (which she would watch even if we were not around).  She would complain of the cost of a head of cauliflower; the cost of fuel to heat the house; would wear an extra jumper; and was a mend and make do kinda gal.

This is my favourite picture of her, for many reasons, but mostly as I have a look of her in me, and I am delighted that I do, she was a truly formidable, beautiful human being.


