Cranberry Muffins

This morning I was woken up with cuddles from Maxi and Mini, both were perky and kept saying “Mummy I love you“, then the qualifying of the Chinese Grand Prix started, and I was in heaven… all I needed was a cup of coffee…

Eventually the boys got bored with the qualifying, so we went downstairs for breakfast.  I was wondering what to have, we were running low on eggs, out of bacon, we’d had pancakes the day before, cereal and toast were just too boring, so I thought muffins.  I have a stack of cranberries in my freezer so thought I’d make cranberry muffins.

I googled cranberry muffins and came up with this recipe which I amended.

I beat together the 60g softened butter 155g sugar added the 2 eggs, beating until it was a smooth batter, then I added about 1/2 tsp vanilla essence and mixed some more.  It may have been more, as I just added a good slug, I’m not the best at measuring.  |The recipe then says to mix the dry ingredients of the, 250g plain flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder and pinch of salt, but I just added this to one side of the big bowl I’d mixed the butter, sugar and eggs in.  To the other side I added the 125 millilitres milk, and mixed all the ingredients up.  I just couldn’t be bothered with the extra washing up!  Finally I added 250g cranberries, mine were straight out of the freezer, so the mixture became quite stiff.  I spooned the mixture into 12 muffin cases, half filling them at first and adding a chunk of white chocolate to the middle, before topping the cases up with the mixture.  Perhaps in future I would add white chocolate chips, but I had some white chocolate coins, so just put them in the middle (improvise, adapt, overcome as my now ex-naval engineer husband would say).  Then bake at 180°C for about 25 minutes.  So the tops are just brown.

Et voila, breakfast was made..

