BBQs & Freezing weather


There is snow on the ground, it is forecast to rain, what are the plans for dinner? BBQ!

Now this is not the first of the year, that is always held on January the first (hangovers and all).  This was to celebrate the end of my mother and sisters visit.  I marinated chicken in yoghurt and spices; sausages and pork chops in barbecue sauce; and then decided to cook some raw prawns I had stashed in the freezer.

Not long before cooking time I mixed a teaspoon of coriander, a teaspoon of home-made chilli oil, a good tablespoon of minced garlic, salt and pepper, and the grated rind of a lemon  This was then mixed with about half a kilo of uncooked prawns.

The lovely mixture was left for about fifteen minutes or so (until the coals started to call) and then approximately  five at a time were put on
wooden skewers.

These skewers were placed on to a hot BBQ and turned when they turned pink.  Taking care not to over cook.

They were served with a hot potato salad and a crisp salad with fennel and tomato.

Even my two-year old ate a few of them, though next time I cook them for him, I think I will omit the chilli.


