Lollipops!

As you know it’s Maxi’s birthday party on Saturday, and I thought I’d make Lollipops as going home presents, I’d seen a recipe in a cook book (from Rachel Allen, Home Cooking) I’d been given for Christmas, and found this recipe for home-made fruity lollipops.  Thinking about it I think I was given the book a Christmas last year, so it’s taken me that long to get round to making them!

I’d had to source the lolly sticks from the web, as I could not find a local supplier.  Though the recipe only required 450g sugar, 150ml water and 1/8 teaspoon of cream of tartar and 4 tablespoons of fruit cordial for flavouring, you must, must, must have a sugar thermometer.

The sugar, water and cream of tartar are added to a heavy bottom pan, and stirred whilst being heated by a high heat until it is boiling.  Then the fire turned down to a simmer and then it is time to watch this clear liquid bubble away until it reaches 143ºC (290ºF)

Just as it reaches this magic figure stir in the fruit cordial and bring the mixture up to temperature.  Don’t worry, as for me, it went down about twenty degrees, so it took a while to reach the soft crack stage again.

Now I added about a teaspoon of edible glitter, and then spooned pools of this hot liquid onto waiting lolly sticks.  Now the recipe called for the sticks to be on non stick baking sheet.  NO,
NO, NO, NO, NO,
I couldn’t get anyone of the ones on my lovely non stick off, so had to soak them in water off.  Instead I used a silicon sheet, that worked a treat.  Once hard, which took about ten minutes, peel them off and you should have a lovely glittery lolly pop.  Then all that’s left to do is wrap your lollies in cellophane and keep them in an air tight container for up to a week.

