Baked Goats Cheese

My really quick starter, that is always well received in our house, is Baked Goats Cheese.

I use individual goats cheese, the rind allows the middle to go molten but keep it all together without loosing any of the melted oozing cheesiness.

I put the cheese onto a glass, oven proof plate, preferably without smashing a pyrex jug whilst taking it out of the cupboard… oh that’s just me!  Then into a moderate oven, 180°C for about 20 minutes, the cheese should not burst but be soft when you press the sides.

That’s it done, I usually serve it on a bed of peppery rocket or a mix of spinach and sorrel, and usually with toasted nuts or seeds tossed through the leaves.  Today, I had no leaves so I served it with diced spring onions, red peppers and tomatoes, and dressed with a syrupy balsamic reduction.  A splash of balsamic vinegar in a dry pan reduced until it’s a syrupy consistency, still sweet and not burnt.

Then just before you bring it to the table, you can either slice the cheese in half or let that be done at the table, so the recipient can release the cheesy gooeyness for themselves.

