What’s in a name?

My husband of almost 13 years has been calling me his kitchen mechanic for as long as I can remember.  I think it is a fall out of him being in the navy, where everyone seems to have a nick name of some strange composition or another, it is also probably something to do with the fact I like being in the kitchen;

I like creating things for others to enjoy and for birthday’s and Christmas’ I love to receive any accoutrements to facilitate my achieving this.  Something my Mother in Law is only just starting to understand, she always wants to get something for me… well the kitchen is me, when I’m happy, angry or frustrated, that’s where you’ll find me.

I don’t profess to be a very good cook, just one who likes to dabble and learn how to make new things, preferably from scratch.  This is probably something to do with the fact that as a little girl food colourings, sugar, MSG, fried foods, all had an adverse reaction.

I remember requesting a salad on the few days Mum made a fried breakfast.  Mum was great, she would make real food, not convenience food… though not so great when she limited my flavoured crisp consumption, but MSG and me just don’t sit well together.

I suppose the worst is food colours, I remember one time at University, I “treated” myself to a “Fray Bentos” chicken pie.  Now back then, and probably now (?) chicken was coloured with pink food die to make it look more appealing, anyway after the consumption of said pie I started to feel most decidedly odd.  My mind was racing and I just felt bizarre.  Which would have been fine had it not been the evening that two house-mates and I were to go flat hunting.  To this day I do not know how they put up with me, behaving like a mad toddler, jumping around… but I do remember the basement flat had a lovely garden, if a problem with damp.

So I get introduced as and referred to as “the kitchen mechanic” by dear hubs, and whilst many people protest to him calling me this, they usually come round when he tells them I don’t mind.  But what’s in a name anyway?

image from http://hrmag.com/
