Bliss

So I found myself this morning making chilli oil, and chilli/garlic/ginger oil.  There was no premeditation to it, just after the milk was put away after filling cereal bowls I saw the neat pile of Thai red chillies and took them out and started to take the stalks off.  A similar thing happened yesterday, when I just started making chocolate truffles at 06:45.  Now I will admit that both of these tasks were on my “to do” list, but why then?  and why did the procedure happen in a quiet state of contentment?  Not a smug, “hay this is what I’m doing aren’t I great” feeling, just a “today is going to be good” feeling.

Then I remembered my friend who challenged me to write a list of things that made me happy, something just for me to remind me when times were hectic that it doesn’t take much to do something that makes you feel at peace with yourself.

I had dutifully sat in front of the computer thinking of things that made me happy, the sound of my children and husband giggling, the sound of them sleeping, freshly hoovered floors, you know the things.  As the happy, blissful thoughts stumbled then poured onto the page the smile on my face grew and grew, to one of those smiles that you know is there but you have to make no effort to put it there…

The same thing was happening this morning, the sense of peace and bliss was taking over, I was going to be able to cope with the noise and chaos of the day.

“If you follow your bliss, you put yourself on a kind of track, which has been there all the while waiting for you, and the life that you ought to be living is the one you are living” Joseph Campbell

